Sound of IKEBANA - Naoko Tosa
Over the weekend (Thursday-Sunday), there was a projection mapping show entitled “Sound of IKEBANA” by Naoko Tosa at the Singapore Art Science museum.

It’s only during rare occasions like this that there will be projections on the Art Science Museum building itself. On normal days, it will be just another lit up structure that sits infront of Marina Bay Sands.

The last time I recall seeing projections on it was during iLight Marina Bay in 2012. Back then the theme is based more on Singapore as the theme as compared to the projection mapping show over the weekend.

The projection this time round is revolving around “Art”. So, to many of us there, we were trying hard to understand the show…  *well, being lack of arts cells, after a while I gave up and just watched the show.*

Despite not able to understand the show, it was very interesting to the fluids flow :p

Below are just some more captures of the show from my point of view..

Sound of IKEBANA - Naoko Tosa

Sound of IKEBANA - Naoko Tosa

Sound of IKEBANA - Naoko Tosa

Sound of IKEBANA - Naoko Tosa

Sound of IKEBANA - Naoko Tosa

Sound of IKEBANA - Naoko Tosa

Sound of IKEBANA - Naoko Tosa

Sound of IKEBANA - Naoko Tosa

Sound of IKEBANA - Naoko Tosa

Just keep in mind that you are looking at a projection on a building that looks like a hand… (for visualization on how the building looks like, you can refer to the wiki here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ArtScience_Museum)

Other than the first shot in landscape orientation, the rest are shot across the bridge. Which forces me to go into portrait orientation to get the composition.

The main reason for me to go into this composition instead of going wide angle and landscape shot is because that’s what the rest of the people are doing… Those shots are what we have done before already… only the projections on the building is different. So how does that makes it any different from those 1001 photos out there? That’s why I decided to just go in tight with a 70-200 @ 200mm focusing on  the building itself.

Although not the ideal position as like in the first shot (where I was directly below the building with the largest screen coverage), there wasn’t any time for me to move there. So I just did what I can. Compose and shoot…

Overall, I’m quite pleased with the results I got here. The liquid in the projection looks pretty.. But from all the shots I’ve captured during the show, I still like the first shot where I was directly under the building and that shot is shot with my Samsung Note 3..

In fact, during the 2nd show I was shooting, I was trying to replicate the same effect, but I was not in the same position to get back the perspective, so I chose a different perspective..

TBH, I still have 500 shots of the landscape shot of the building with the surrounding CBD buildings which I’m still trying to make out how to process them…. Projection and well lit environment don’t gel well… It may take a long time before I know how to process them..

But for now, just these..

Regards,
YK

