Blue hour in the neighbourhoodIn the month of December, there will probably be an average chance of 70% that it will rain.

Yesterday being a fine weather (in the month of December, my definition of fine means ‘not raining’….), I went to another of the location in my neighbourhood which I discovered using Google Earth, Street View and an interesting app “Sunrise Sunset on the Map”.

Like any other photo shoot, if you have never been to the location or seen the surroundings from pictures, you will almost never know what to expect just based on the Street View.

The unknowns from shooting from HDBs is

  • Will the trees by the road side be blocking your view? This is quite important if the HDB that is scouted looks ‘short’ (e.g. 12-14 storey high) I usually don’t have much concern for this when I’m shooting from 20th over storey buildings. (This concern can be minimized by studying the Google street view more carefully, there are some rare cases where the images looks too distorted to make anything useful out of it)
  • If the residents living there growing alot of pot plants by the corridor where you are going to shoot. If they are growing alot of plants, you won’t find a nice spot to plant your tripod or mount your clamp.
  • The design of the HDB. Depending on how the block is being designed, it may also affect your framing. For instance of the above, the right side is framed to it’s limits before the building’s elevator shaft will get caught in the frame.

The place which I shot the above is from a HDB with only 14th storey high (IIRC). But the top floor isn’t ideal because of a small concrete extension extending out and limiting my frame. So I have to descend one level.

The next thing I did was to pull out the compass and see where the sun will be rising. The app will show you the direction where you can see the sun, but the compass will tell you where your sun is in the frame. (or at least as close as possible)

After giving a couple of minutes to think of how to compose the view, I setup my clamp on the railings, mount the ballhead, camera and started shooting. It didn’t take too much time to get the above shot, just a couple of shoot and reviewing and fine tuning. After the fine tuning, I stayed with this composition and shot the blue hour and wait for sunrise.

Actually, seeing how thick the clouds were, I knew that the chances to see the sun is very little. That so, I still stayed to see how it would looked like :p It was kinda disappointing thou… the sun appeared for less than 2 minutes before being covered up by the clouds again…

After that I just packed up and left… Show’s over. Breakfast time… and back to sleep.

As for today, at the moment it’s raining heavily out there, I doubt I’m going anywhere to shoot…. So, I guess, this is it for this post.

*Gotta scout for another new location to shoot.*

Regards,
YK

*Just a couple of days back, I sold off my favourite EF-S lens… the awesome EF-S 10-22. It was quite a painful decision to sell it off, but I have to do it. Because ever since I bought my 17-40, the 10-22 have hardly seen the daylight. Instead of letting it ‘rot’ in the dry cabinet, I decided to sell it off and let itself be useful to the new owner…*

