Following the ice skating competition at JCube, I did a shoot at Bedok Reservoir the following day. Not without any preparation, I read my camera user manual..(In the computer world, we call it: RTFM…) I really need to know how the AF works if I want to get those fast action shots.

But I’ve only read the part on the AF :p

It was raining on the day of this water skiing shoot… But it was already just drizzling when I reached the venue. It was a thunderstorm like just 2 hours before the event starts.

But still, It just means you will get uninteresting skies (grey overcast skies and potentially low light)

Here are some shots I got from the event… *After filtering out another 90% of all I got that day* The rest of the photos can be found in my Facebook album here

Water Skiing @ Bedok Reservoir

Water Skiing @ Bedok Reservoir

Water Skiing @ Bedok Reservoir

Water Skiing @ Bedok Reservoir

Water Skiing @ Bedok Reservoir

Water Skiing @ Bedok Reservoir

 

 

As mentioned, I’m not exactly pleased with the results I got in this series… I believe it’s probably the weather that day that made me feel like that. Usually, I would have preferred a big hot sun with blue skies lighting up the surroundings and giving things their contrasts and vibrant colors… but the overcast skies just “kills” the “color” and “feeling” (That’s in my opinion…)

Well, I still do see some great shots from those people who were shooting with me that day… I guess, It’s just a matter of changing mentality and focusing on the sports instead..

I think I really got alot to work on this area (forget the weather, just shoot!)

I’m not sure when will be the next time I will have the chance to actually shoot sports again. But I will definitely be attempt shooting sports again when the opportunity comes.

Regards,
YK

