It was after the Garena Festival that I headed down to Tanglin Mall… Stated on the website, there will be Avalanche and Snow at Tanglin Mall in Singapore.. For those who are wondering… It’s just faux snow (foam).. There won’t be snow in Singapore. Unless there is a drastic change in climate zones that will make it happen.

Anyway, for those who are interested in this “Snow” @ Tanglin Mall, this event will last till 2nd Jan 2013.

Monday – Friday, the Avalanche will start at 7:30pm-7:45pm. Snow starts falling from 7:45pm to 8:00pm

Weekends, there will be 2 sessions. Avalanche from 7:30pm-7:45pm, 8:30pm-8:45pm. Snowing from 7:45pm-8:00pm and 8:45pm-9:00pm.

Do expect crowds if you do visit this place during the mentioned timings.

Export - IMG_7915

Export - IMG_8026

Export - IMG_8036

Export - IMG_8060
I loved their expressions.

Export - IMG_8074
Now we have blizzard spell casters…

Export - IMG_8091

After the snow event….

You can view a couple more shots for this event at my Facebook album (here)

This is definitely one of the more lively event I’ve attended for the past few weeks… I will return here if time allows… The expressions and actions of the kids playing with the faux snow is priceless. That also goes to the parents that are sporting enough to play with their kids in the “chaos”. Many Singaporeans (myself included) do not like to get wet in public…

btw, If you are attempting to shoot in this event, you should either bring a telephoto lens and just shoot from afar, else you would have to consider some “rain” protection for your camera body and lenses. Personally, I was mainly using a mixture of 70-200 an 50 f1.8. Only for certain wide angle shots like the last one, I was using my Sigma 17-50..

Thoughts after the event 

It was also in this kind of events and situation that I understand my equipments better… For instance, I didn’t know that my 50 f1.8 can be so wonderful and yet at the same time terrible… The bokeh it creates at f1.8 is awesome… but because of the nature of the event, and with the moving subjects, the focusing can’t catch up. Which was the main reason that makes me switch to my 70-200 which focus at “god-speed”.

Also, it’s this kind of fast paced events that I know that a backpack can be slow…especially if there is a need to change lens. I would have to slide one side off, open the flap, change lens, then wear the backpack back again. The primary reason for using the backpack for the day is because of the stuffs I’m carrying.

– EOS 500D Gripped
– EF-70-200 f2.8L
– Sigma 17-50
– Flash (which I never got to use for the day…)
– Water bottle + Umbrella + spare batteries/sd cards

If I were to use a shoulder bag, I think I would have a sore shoulder by now. I’m currently thinking about changing to the Think Tank modular component system for speed changing.

Currently I’m planning to get the following
– PRO SPEED BELT V2
– HUBBA HUBBA HINEY (for my 2 lenses or 1 lens + 1 flash)
– R U HOT  (Water Bottle Carrier)
– DIGITAL HOLSTER 40 V2 (500D gripped + 70-200)

I may be switching out HHH for Speed Changer if I feel that HHH is not “tall” enough for my lenses.. Will see how it goes when I get to the shop and see it for myself.

 

On my calendar… the next event will be on the 9th December… I was hoping to get the Think Tank belt system up by this date.. But I wonder what and where I can shoot for next weekend…

Hope I get some ideas during the week.

Regards,
YK

